top of page
Search

Jackson Saunders' Good Shepherd Sunday Message



Hello. It’s good to be back. Though it’s strange to be at Mass in an empty Church and to be with you via this online service.

I remember thinking to myself halfway through the live-streamed Easter Sunday Mass with the Bishop in Bendigo that I’d been a little serious and that I hadn’t smiled. I then remembered that there was no one to see or nod to in the Church. So, we do miss you and we look forward to being with you again.

Today we celebrate the 4th Sunday of Easter, also known as Good Shepherd Sunday. Interestingly, today also marks the 200th anniversary of the arrival of the first two priests in Australia in Sydney in 1820, so it is very fitting that in this Mass we pray for more vocations to the priesthood and religious life.

As many of you know, I am studying for the priesthood for the Diocese of Sandhurst and I am currently in my sixth-year of studies. From July last year I was blessed to have the opportunity to do further studies in Rome in Italy. I was there for 8 months before returning back to the Diocese 6 weeks ago. I have since been assigned Wangaratta and King Valley Parishes, so I am pleased to be here again.

Being able to listen to the voice of Jesus, the Good Shepherd, is the key message of today.

I can relate to this, as there were a lot of voices to work through when I first started thinking about the priesthood; some were positive, others more challenging. Then, I had my own questions about the ‘nitty-gritty’ details of the priesthood and whether it was actually God’s will for my life.

Amidst all of these voices and my own questions, however, there was a gentle voice, that of Jesus, the Good Shepherd, who I could sense was gently asking me to study to become a priest.

And so, I went to the seminary. Since going to the seminary, I have continued to discern how to listen to the voice of Jesus, the Good Shepherd, who brings peace.

Shepherds were common in the life of Jesus, as the agricultural society at the time meant that people were reliant on sheep for income to provide for themselves and for others. Therefore, the role of the shepherd was to protect the sheep. Some were good at this, others like the thieves and the brigands of today’s Gospel weren’t.

Today Jesus is presented as the Good Shepherd. Those who listen to his voice will live life to the full (Jn 10:10).

There are a lot of voices in our world, which we all hear, no matter our age, particularly now! We are all suffering with the restrictions of COVID-19 and in the second reading from St Peter we are reminded that Jesus too shared in our suffering. He left us with an example to help us through these difficult times where there are lots of different voices. We are being bombarded with lots of information in the news, on Facebook and elsewhere. The key message of today Gospel’s is to listen to the voice of Jesus, the Good Shepherd, but how?

Perhaps, we could ask ourselves. How are we protecting others at this time? In everything that we hear, see or read; what voices are we listening to the most? How do we know which voice to listen to? The first reading gives us bit of a clue.

In the first reading from the Acts of the Apostles we hear Peter’s speech at Pentecost, which we celebrate in just four weeks’ time. At Pentecost Jesus comes down from heaven to give the gift of the Holy Spirit to his disciples. Amidst their fear and confusion, Jesus says to them: “Peace be with you.” Not once, but twice!

On May 3, 2020, there are still lots of voices. Jesus, the Good Shepherd, wants us to listen to his voice that brings us peace because only then can we have the fullness of life, which is what we celebrate in this Easter season.

Jackson Saunders, Seminarian

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Golden Wedding Anniversary

Congratulations to Brian and Mary Burgess to their 50th Wedding Anniversary. Greetings from your St. Patrick's Community

bottom of page